Skip to content

Mini Calzones, Super Snacks

February 2, 2013

In preparation for the Super Bowl Beyonce’s concert and the Puppy Bowl, I am preparing lots of super snacks like Bier Cheese and even some non-dairy items that don’t really have a place here on this blog. But the super star of my super bowl? Mini calzones.

I’ve had a leftover container of Pillsbury Grands! biscuits in my fridge since the holidays (you don’t want to know which holiday though, let’s just say a questionable amount of time) and I am not about to sit around and eat a batch of biscuits by myself. (It’s been done, but my jeans don’t really have the room to handle that.) So, after seeing a commercial for Grands! Unsloppy Joes  I decided to step outside of the biscuit mold and make some mini calzones for my Super Bowl festivities.

The cheese and broccoli combination in almost any form (omelettes, calzones, etc.) makes me super happy so that’s what I’ve filled mine with, but feel free to mix and match with marinara sauce, pepperoni or chopped cooked spinach (wrung out in a clean kitchen towel) or whatever else you are in the mood for. I would stay away from water-dense veggies like mushrooms because they, like cooked spinach when not wrung out in a towel, will make your calzones mushy on the inside.

Golden brown on the outside, warm cheesiness on the inside.

Golden brown on the outside, warm cheesiness on the inside.

Yield: 16 mini calzones

2 packages Grands! Biscuits
All-purpose flour, for dusting
1 pound shredded low-moisture mozzarella
1 pound frozen broccoli, thawed and drained
1 egg, beaten
Marinara sauce, optional

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Separate all of the biscuits and roll them out on a floured (clean) surface. You can use a rolling pin, but I found it just as easy (and way more therapeutic) to squash the biscuit with the palm of my hand and then gently stretch it out. Seriously either way works, I just like squashing things. Each biscuit will stretch out to about a 5 1/2-inch diameter, but it’s ok if they’re a bit smaller.

Next, set up an assembly line of your fillings and egg wash.  On the half of the dough closest to you, place 1 tablespoon of the cheese down and spread it out, leaving a little bit of space around the outside edge of the dough. Then top the cheese with some broccoli (I could usually fit about 4 florets) and finish with another tablespoon of cheese on top.

Yes it's a bit tedious, but so is a 4-hour football game with no snacks.

Yes it’s a bit tedious, but so is a 4-hour football game with no snacks.

Using your finger or a pastry brush, line the outside edge of the dough with the egg wash. Fold the dough over on itself to create a half-moon shape. Push down the edges and make sure that there are no openings. Repeat with the remaining calzones.

DSC_0138

Bake in several batches (depending on your oven size) until golden brown on the outside and warmed through on the inside, 15 minutes. Serve with whatever you like, but I like to go traditional and serve my calzones with warm marinara sauce.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

